MY REVIEW OF ‘AND THE MOUNTAINS ECHOED’

Hello Folks! I hope everyone is ready for my first book review.

If you are a Khaled Hosseini fan like me, I’m assuming you have already read his latest book, And the Mountains Echoed. And what a book it was.

Image

Now I know there have been many reviews saying that it wasn’t as good as his previous books. But personally, I found it beautiful and incomparable to his other works. The characters were way too relatable, their feelings too real. The book started with a little story being told to two kids, Abdullah and Pari, by their father.  The moment that story ended, I knew this was going to be one hell of an emotional book. Full of pain, misery and loss. And as can be expected, Khaled Hosseini failed to disappoint.

The bond Hosseini portrayed between Abdullah and Pari was unique and beautiful. It was the kind that would remind you of all the good things in life. The kind that tells you that love will always be the most beautiful and powerful thing that life has to offer. These two young siblings completed each other.

And then they had to be separated (thanks a lot for that trauma, Mr. Author).  For a moment I thought it was some big joke. Some big, horrible joke. Because no way had we been introduced to such a beautiful relationship only to see it broken apart. But, alas, it had indeed happened. And then suddenly it even made sense-the story the father had told, Abdullah’s anxiety to follow his father and sister to Kabul and their father’s tensed demeanor throughout the visit to the home they were selling Pari to.

Now I know it was important to the plot and all but for this particular aspect of the story, I’d never forgive the author. Even if he grovels at my feet begging for forgiveness, he shall not get it. Sorry, Mr. Hosseini but it’s just the way I am.

Moving on, the book told the stories of many other characters, bound together in some distant way. Each story had something to convey. Loss was prominent in each of them, in one form or the other. Each told us undeniable truths about the human nature. How sometimes, we are unknowingly selfish. How sometimes we overestimate our ability to do good. How sometimes we underestimate it. How life plays out its cards in such a way that even someone who has never done anything but good becomes a victim of circumstance. How sometimes our hopes for the future turn out to be nothing but childish fantasies. How sometimes we drift apart from the people we love the most.

Throughout the book, I kept waiting for Abdullah and Pari to be reunited. The book wouldn’t make sense without it. Now I have to admit that when I first read the book’s summary I was under the impression that the journey that the book promised (through San Francisco and Paris and what not) would be undertaken by the same set of characters, probably in some sort of adventurous drama (a foolish assumption on my part). However, I cannot say that I was disappointed by how the book actually turned out. Yes, the siblings did meet. But what will forever be a pain in my heart is that Abdullah would never know that. His disease made it impossible for him to accept that it was indeed his beloved Pari who was standing in front of him so many decades later. This poor lad spent his ENTIRE life pining for his sister in ways normal people like you and I cannot comprehend and yet, he would die not knowing that she travelled across continents to meet him. He would die not knowing that the little hands he used to hold in his own have raised three children.

That, my friends, is the pain I went through while reading this much-awaited book.

Would I recommend it? YES. In huge capital letters

Ugly Nikki’s Rating- I’m not significant enough to rate it. It would be insulting it.

Don’t forget to tell me your own opinion on the book.

2 thoughts on “MY REVIEW OF ‘AND THE MOUNTAINS ECHOED’

Leave a Reply

